Back on Track

I was unable to post yesterday due to a crazy day at work. I have those sometimes, or a lot of times… Anyway, it felt so good to work off all of that icebox cake the last two mornings.

Monday Workout

I usually wake up between 5:00 and 5:30 AM, depending on my workout, my day at work, and if Joe is driving me to the train or not. I usually drive, park and walk myself, but if he decides to go into work early with me, it saves me some time! Luckily, Joe woke up with me, and my Monday workout is usually just shaking off the rust from the weekend. We did Abs for 30 minutes, which always consists of:

  • 2 Lower Ab excercies
  • 2 Upper Ab exercises
  • 2 Oblique exercises

Then, I headed to the treadmill, which is unusual for a Monday, while Joe headed to the ellyptical. I tend to stick to the ellyptical as my body is still trying to digest Sunday. I decided to do intervals of jogging and incline walking instead. I did 2 minutes at 6.5, no incline, and 2 minutes of 4.5 with a 9.0 incline. It varied a little but basically followed through the 30 minutes. I then hopped on the ellyptical for 20 minutes at “25” since I was already sweated up! I definitly felt like this workout was better than my normal Monday routine. I need this after the weekend.

Breakfast

Breakfast was a xanath gum connundrum! Yes, I attempted xanath gum in my shake for the first time, and when people say a “pinch”, they mean it! A little goes a long way. I through my usuals in a blender and added a tablespoon, bad idea! It is a thickening agent, which is great for shakes–in small doses!

The blender basically stopped dead in its tracks and I had to scoop out the thick mess inside. I decided to grab a shower and try again after, being that I was already running late. Joe just laughed at me as he made his PB2 and Protein Powder shake. We typically have two 7.5 lb buckets of Isopure hanging around–chocolate and vanilla, that I order from Netrition. I like Netrition because they always ship so quick, for only $4.95 and everything is always right! Plus, you get 5% off with orders of $200 or more and I always get something free (towel, t-shirt, water bottle so far)!

I attempted the same after I got ready, and took it in a to go bottle for the ride. It came out just right with a “pinch”! I also wanted to share the slight disconnect at my daily Starbucks stop. My mom’s worst nightmare and why she did not name me Gillian with a G.

Lunch

I bought a lot of new products at the grocery store this weekend since I have been bored with my lunches, so I was excited to dig in to what I had packed because it was such a crazy day! I brought turkey with Nayonaise (dijon style) on a whole wheat sandwich thin, with a side of Mann’s Broccoli Slaw and  Annie’s Lite Gingerly dressing.

I ended up having a late night at work and was excited to just get home and get back into bed! I made a quick protein shake with a banana before doing so.

Today’s Workout

Tuesdays are a love/hate day for me, because that describes my relationship with running. Joe got me into the habit of doing a long-run day, which for me has gone up to 7.7 miles at most. I always wake up dreading it, but a few minutes in I love it! I preceded my run with a 20 minute one prop ab workout (a mat, on the floor).

Today I ran 7.53m in 65 minutes, with a warum up and cooldown baked into that time. It was a good day because I was able to interval a bit (sprinting at 8, 8.5, and 9, throughout the workout for 30 second), while keeping at a steady 7.0. I had surgery on both of my hips, which I will save for a later post, that sometimes defers my running.

Today was the first day that it was warm when I walked out the door at 5:15. I usually just run out in shorts no matter how cold it is, but today I didn’t get that chill! It is a rainy-ish day, but it’s atleast close to 60 degrees. Spring, finally! I always feel like my workout is intensified in the heat! I definitely sweat (sweated?) more than usual today. Even after I got out of the shower and got into my robe, I still had to open the bathroom door when I was blow drying my hair. That normally only happens in the middle of summer!

For breakfast, I made a shake with chocolate protein powder, a banana, and chocolate almond milk. It’s been my recent kick. Well, bananas really have been. I also made overnight oats (dry oats, almond milk, 1 tsp. dark chocolate cocoa, and strawberries) last night that I brought to work to eat as a snack. I always make sure to eat extra calories on days that I run (good calories, of course)!

Lunch

Lunch was a goat cheese (I use Chavrie), turkey, and spinach on a whole wheat wrap with carrots. Sorry, I bit into it before I took the picture! I will get in the habit of taking more pictures of my food once I get this all up and running, but for your enjoyment I have my iPhone photos, for now!

Now, I have to finish up my day at work. Enjoy your day! 🙂

Leave a Reply

