Sloppy Joe

While finishing up at work, I had a craving for Sloppy Joe’s. This past weekend, I stopped at a local specialty foods store and they had some sort of all natural, organic, sloppy Joe mix for 99 cents. I figured, why not? Today I decided I was going to use it. I stopped at the grocery store after work for Turkey meat, and the other ingredients.

Unfortunately, the packet seasonings didn’t do it for me, so I added some extras of my own! Brown sugar, paprika, cumin and red pepper flakes. I also chopped up an onion and pepper to cook with the meat.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb. Meat (However, I chose turkey)
  • Onion, chopped
  • Pepper, chopped
  • 1 6oz. can tomato paste
  • 1 cup water
  • Seasoning of choice (or packet and add your extras as I did)

Directions:

Saute meat and veggies in olive oil until cooked. Mix together tomato paste, water, and seasoning in bowl. Add mix to meat and veggies. Let simmer for 5 minutes until it reaches desired thickness.

BAM. Sloppy Joe’s!

I put it on a whole wheat sandwich thin and served it up with roasted parsnip fries and green beans. I’d like to point out that that small sandwich thin did not hold the heaping amount of sloppy Joe that I put on it, and it was, indeed, a sloppy Joe.

The pre-sloppy Joe

 

Mmmm Crunch-ay

Joe got home late so I downed mine before he got home. Sad that we were not able to eat dinner together, but he enjoyed being a sloppy Joe when he got home.

Leave a Reply

