Keep Calm and have a Cupcake

It’s amazing how antsy I get when it’s time to eat, and something is preventing me! My 10:30-noon meeting today ended up being a 10:00-1:00 meeting. Needless to say, I was ravenous by the time I got back to my desk. I ran to heat up my leftover Joe’s in the microwave and snacked on my sides while waiting in the kitchen – I couldn’t help it! I cut up the rest of the red pepper from my Joe mixture and dipped it in Supremely Spicy hummus from Sabra. I opted against a sandwich thin, not wanting to expose my sloppy eating of the Joe at work. A spoon was a great substitute.

While looking through my desk for something at work today, I found a notebook that made me smile. My team gave it to me on the first day I started. Apparently it was a GWP (gift with purchase) that we got from a vendor to give to our stores, but we kept a few.

I needed this on Monday when I was having a super stressful day! I was in Friday mode today, since I am taking a long weekend. Anyway, a cupcake may be able to calm me down from anything.

I really wanted to cook again tonight, but since Joe brought me in this morning, I ended up hanging out at the restaurant for a while after work because he had to stay a little later. That’s always okay, because I usually end up ordering dinner and I thoroughly enjoy the menu. There were a few new additions to it this week, so I decided to try the Green Bean & Chick Pea Salad w/ mint dijon vinaigrette. I added grilled shrimp to it and minus’ed the bacon and red onion. Bacon because I just don’t enjoy it in my salad and red onions because they make my stomach extremely mad at me. I like the idea that the majority of the salad was green beans, rather than lettuce. There was an optimal amount of crunch in every bite, and less ‘lettuce doesn’t fit in your mouth so you get dressing all over your face’ moments.

Joe’s dad was at the restaurant and he was leaving so I hopped a ride with him. I wanted to get home to get things ready for tomorrow! I made side by side overnight oats for Joe and I, which I’ll share tomorrow, washed some dishes, and got out my Vera Bradley large duffel to start packin’!

G’night! 😉

Leave a Reply

