Today is my Friday!

I woke up this morning feeling tired, since I was up late watching some stupid movie on TV with Joe. It was 5:15 and I knew I had to get my butt up and push Joe along too because we always run late on Wednesdays. Thankfully, he had to go in early today so he got up with me.

We did our normal Wednesday routine, which includes 30 minutes of Abs, upper body routine (shoulder, back, chest, triceps and biceps) for about 30 minutes, and then 30 minutes on the elliptical. I usually go on this crazy machine that I call the “moon walker” because it feels like you are doing just that. I feel like I have to work harder and I work up a better sweat. The “regular” ellypticals (well, certain ones), lose resistance when you remove your hands from the sensors. ABSURD I tell you! I can’t stand it, so I refuse to use.

Before I left for the gym, I cut up a banana and froze it because I had an idea of what I wanted for breakfast. As you know, I have been on a banana kick lately, and I saw this concoction on Julie’s page, which made me salivate, a little. I combined the following in the blender:

  • Frozen Banana
  • ½ cup milk
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 pinch xanath gum

As soon as I poured it into my cup, I knew I got the exact amount of xanath needed to make a perfectly thick and creamy shake. Words cannot do justice to the consistency of this shake. It was every bit of creamy banana-ness I could have hoped for, especially after topping it off with some honey. It was Bah-Nanas, as Rachel Zoe would say. I have one banana left this week and I have a feeling it’s life will end in a blender with the ingredients above. Unfortunately because I was running late, I didn’t snap a picture, but I will share with you the obnoxious tubs that somehow end up staying on our kitchen counter at all times. I am determined to find pretty containers that will store all 7.5 lb. of chocolate and vanilla.

Joe snacked on his overnight oats topped with berries that I made him last night, while I finished my shake and hopped in the shower.

  • 1 cup oats (I use quaker)
  • ½ cup milk (Lactaid for Joe)
  • 1 tbsp. Hershey’s special dark cocoa powder
  • 1 packet of splenda for sweetening
  • 2 scoops vanilla protein powder

 He raved about this the last two days and I have a feeling I’ll be making these for him every morning now.

I am a happy girl at work today because I have off tomorrow and Friday! I am going to Atlantic City with some of the managers and bartenders from Joe’s restaurant to attend the wine show (and stay at the Borgata/eat dinner –all payed for by one of his super nice Vendors!).

I’m off to eat my over night oats (made with Greek Yogurt, Berries, a pinch of dark cocoa powder, and Agave Nectar to sweeten), paired with my daily Starbucks (drug). Have a great Wednesday! 🙂

2 responses to “Today is my Friday!

  1. Pingback: Atlantic City Workout « sprinklemassacre

  2. Pingback: 4-3-2-1 « sprinklemassacre

Leave a Reply

