Atlantic City Workout

I got to sleep in until 7:10 today. That may not be sleeping in to some, but to me, it makes all the difference from 5:15! Joe gets up at this time so, so since I’m not leaving for AC until 11:30, I got up with him to workout and get some more stuff done before heading out. We hopped out of bed and got to the gym by 7:20. Thursday is normally a 5 mile run day for me. Joe started running for an hour on Thursdays like we do on Tuesday’s, but because of work I usually end up cutting mine short. He pushed me to do the full hour today, but after 15 minutes of intervals (2 1/2 minutes at 7.0, 30 seconds at 8.0, repeat), I was doing math in my head with the minutes on the treadmill (like I normally do, being a crazy person, while Joe puts a towel over the treadmill stats) and got an idea. Considering I will be consuming lots of food and drinks in AC, a little extra cardio will do me good.

My workout ended up looking something like this;

  • 15 minute intervals (as mentioned above)
  • 5 minutes at 9.0 incline, 4.0 speed
  • 10 minutes intervals (7.5 for 2 minutes, 8.5 for 30 seconds)
  • 5 minutes at 9.2 incline, 4.2 speed
  • 10 minutes intervals (same as last)
  • 5 minutes at 9.5, 4.5 speed
  • 10 minutes intervals (7.5 for 2 minutes, 9.0 for 30 seconds)
  • 5 min cooldown

That way, I took the extra 15 minutes Joe pushed me to do and did a serious incline walk. I was a sweaty mess. Joe actually was grossed out by the beads of sweat on my shoulder when we were stretching. But yet, it’s okay for him to ring his shirt out on the ground when we get home.

Breakfast

I was dreaming of breakfast about 45 minutes into my cardio. I made overnight oats for us last night and we actually got to enjoy breakfast together this morning.

Mushy goodness

  • 1/2 cup Almond milk
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 tbsp. dark chocolate cocoa powder
  • 1 packet splenda
  • 1 scoop Vanilla protein powder

Yum yum! Joe’s was subbed with 2 scoops protein and lactaid milk. I cut up strawberries and bananas for us to add in this morning. I froze the rest to make a shake for myself before leaving for AC, knowing that I’ll be in a car for over 2 hours.

I made some coffee, showered and finished packing!

All packed and ready to go!

I am so excited to be off work for 2 days and just get away! The only thing I hate is not sleeping next to Joe, but hopefully tomorrow he will be out of work early and we can get in some quality time.

I am waiting to be picked up, blogging, and enjoying my new favorite smoothie that I made yesterday and cannot get enough of! This time, I added frozen strawberries to the mix and topped with agave nectar! Smoothie bowls ROCK!

So thick I had to scrape the rest out with a spoon!

Sweeten her up!

Num num num

I won’t be back until tomorrow afternoon, hopefully able to do atleast a half-ass workout–better than none at all!

One response to “Atlantic City Workout

  1. Pingback: 4-3-2-1 « sprinklemassacre

Leave a Reply

