Pumpkin Pie Smoothie Bowl

I left work today and it was super warm outside! It put me in such a good mood, except for the fact that Joe is closing again tonight at work. I passed by all of the outdoor seating at restaurants on the way home and felt Spring in the air for the first time this year. The rest of the week is supposed to be just as nice, I can’t wait!

I  got home a little after 7:00 because I had to take a detour. There was a 6 mile traffic jam that I was not about to sit in, so I took the back roads. It gave me time to catch up with my friend Kristina on my bluetooth.

I got home, settled, and made my lunch for tomorrow. I probably sampled enough of it to call it dinner, but I decided I wanted a smoothie anyway. I opened the cabinet and saw the pumpkin pie mix I bought this weekend. I hated pumpkin pie when I was little, but over the years I acquired a taste for it. Hungry Girl uses it in a lot of her recipe’s, and I never took the opportunity to try it out. I also saw leftover graham crackers from making Icebox Cake…and you know I always have cool whip on hand. Perfect! Pumpkin without the Pie!!

Pumpkin Pie in a bowl!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup canned pumpkin pie mix
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • A few ice cubes
  • 1 scoop Isopure vanilla protein powder
  • 1 teaspoon honey for sweetening
  • 1 pinch xanath gum for thickening
  • Cinnamon, nutmeg, and pumpkin pie spice (1 tsp. of each or seasoned to your liking)
  • Fat free cool whip
  • Half of a graham cracker

Directions

Combine all but cool whip and graham crackers in a blender. Blend until it is thick and creamy. Pour into bowl. Place a dollop of cool whip on top and crush the graham cracker over it. Voi-la!

It tasted just like pumpkin pie! So good! I am icing my hip now, catching up on my blogs, and trying to download some new tunes for my run tomorrow. You should download Kylie Minogue – Get Outta My Way! I discovered it on the Robyn Pandora station. I will get to hip story eventually. For right now, it’s just a little painful and I am hoping it stops before tomorrow morning. See ya’ll tomorrow!

2 responses to “Pumpkin Pie Smoothie Bowl

  1. That looks awesome I make a pumpkin smoothie that sounds really similar to this. I don’t use any xanath or whip cream. I actually put a half an avocado in mine to thicken it. It kinda sounds crazy, but you don’t taste it at all.

Leave a Reply

