Sick Day

When my alarm went off at 4:45 this morning, I knew that even after a few snoozes there was no way I was getting my butt out of bed because I felt like..well, butt. My head was a balloon and I couldn’t breath out of my nose, at all. I slept until 7 to see if I felt any better, but even going to work then seemed out of the question, so I unfortunately had to use one of my vacation days. We get a lump sum that includes vacation, personal, sick, etc. so I still have enough left.

Joe didn’t have to work today (technically) but he had a few meetings later in the day, so it was nice to sleep in with him. We got up around 10 and saw that it was beautiful outside! Almost 80 degrees today. I decided that laying in bed all day would only make me feel worse, so I attempted the gym to get myself moving a little bit. I ended up completing a 5-4-3-2-1 workout with 5 minutes being incline walking and the 4-3-2-1 minutes being 6.5 to 8.0 speed. I did this for an hour and Joe ran the full hour, followed by a 5 minute cooldown. I usually do about 7.5 miles running the whole hour, so for being sick, 6.35 wasn’t too shabby. Although, somehow I feel I shouldn’t have done this while being sick, but Joe always says “Your body will tell you when it needs a break”, and I felt like I got enough sleep and was well energized!

Excuse the terrible iPhone photo

It was so hot in the gym today, we both looked like wet dogs when we got home. We had to hang our clothes outside to dry. I usually bring a towel but jeez. Time for AC people!

That poor chair

My last mile at the gym consisted of my saying o-ver-night-oats….I couldn’t wait to get home to my dark chocolate oats and add peanut butter for the first time after Lent. I swear, PB tastes even better now!

In tupperware, as I thought I was going to work today

After Joe left for work, I went to the grocery store since our kitchen was bare from my not being home this weekend. I bought the usuals as well as some sick person goodies, but somehow I ended up leaving with a few extras.

Vitamin C, Mint Green Tea, and Chicken Soup ingredients

I was also excited to find these. My mom told me about both. Pizzelle’s are amazing. They are only 23 calories and 1 gram of fat per “cookie” and they’re perfect for spreading PB on or breaking up in yogurt. Plain with tea is great too! As for the natural PB, I just wanted it, it’s a totally different story than Skippy all natural.

I immediately cut myself up a monster california navel orange.

I swear this thing was as big as my head

Then, I got crackin’ on the soup. I stole the recipe from Julie over at PB fingers. It was so easy and so yummy! I subbed Carba Nada noodles though. I served it with toasted wheat portuguese bread.

I downed two bowls! Now for some tea and TV. Let’s hope this cold gets what it has coming! No more stuffy nose at 5am! I want to enjoy this beautiful weather. Speaking of which, the tulips in our backyard bloomed and they looked so pretty today as I walked out to goto the store, that I had to snap a pic. I hope you are all well and not sick like me! I do have to say that my sick day wasn’t all that terrible though! 🙂

2 responses to “Sick Day

  1. Pingback: New Read | sprinklemassacre

  2. Pingback: Honey Hoisin Chicken | sprinklemassacre

Leave a Reply

