Comfort Zone

First thing’s first. My “I haven’t grocery shopped because I was sick and I still have a weird appetite” lunch (in honor of Cinco de Mayo):

Looks just like the box, right? haha. It was pretty tasty though. Kashi is the only frozen entree I will eat.

Now, onto my thoughts….

Being sick and having a total routine-breaking week has really made me realize a lot of things. Some important ones are:

  • Work goes on without me
  • I really need to let myself rest when I am sick
  • Missing the gym won’t kill me (or add on any pounds!)
  • I can break my routine one in a while
  • My eating habits change fiercely when I am not working out

I had a lot of time to think while laying in bed for 4 days straight. I think what I really concluded is that I am such a routine oriented person. I get flustered when I am thrown off course and most of the time I can only think of the negatives. I have my comfort zone and when it is broken, or asked to be broken, I have trouble accepting.

I am not having that “happy weight” realization that some people go through after years of struggling with exercise/food/weight issues (props to all that have overcome, though). I simply have become aware of the fact that a few days off the gym doesn’t take off all of the work I have been putting in. I didn’t have the same appetite, not only because I was sick, but because I normally burn atleast 500 calories before my day even begins, so I normally need more to compensate. However, I didn’t cease to eat Joe’s Mom’s birthday cake for dinner two nights in a row. I hate taking sick (vacation) days, not being able to run, and being bored in bed all day with an appetite for nothing but carbs.  But, I figured that I will revel in my time off and enjoy it!

I decided that since I am still recovering, I am going to take the rest of the week off from the gym. I want to make sure that I am fully recovered because I don’t want to relapse. I have made that mistake too many times before because I was anxious to get back. Plus, I think I’ll have so much energy by next week that maybe I’ll be able to run some extra miles! It also prepares me for July when I will be missing another week for a Vacation (my friend’s Bachelorette party in St. John’s).

As far as work, I am lucky to have great co-worker who picked up the slack while I was out. I wasn’t as overwhelmed as I thought I would be. Another bad habit is that I stress out over things that end up being so small. It’s something I’m working on! 🙂

Do you have a routine? How do you feel when it is altered for any reason?

One response to “Comfort Zone

  1. Those are all great realizations! I hope you are feeling better now.

Leave a Reply

