Grilled Pizza

Since Joe and I eat Pizza every single Sunday (our cheat day), I decided I wanted to make it this week instead of ordering out. So, last night, we enjoyed two pie’s of somewhat healthy Pizza.

First up was making the sauce. I sauteed about 2 tbsp. of garlic in 1 tbsp. olive oil for a few minutes. I then added a large can of whole peeled tomatoes in sauce. Before I added them I squished them up in my hands so the tomato was broken up. I added spices such as pepper, red pepper flakes, garlic powder, onion powder, truffle salt, oregano, and fresh basil. I also added a little bit of parmesean cheese to thicken it up. I let it simmer for a while, or until Joe got home. 🙂

As soon as Joe got home I turned on the grill and started prepping the pie’s. The first one was just basic with sauce and mutz (I used Polly-O part skim)!

I popped it on the top rack of the grill to bake for a while, and then moved it to the bottom rack so the crust got crispy. Oh, by the way I used store bought whole wheat crust! Much easier than making my own, but someday I will. 🙂

We topped it with parmesean cheese and fresh basil and DUG IN!

For the second pie, I decided to do something a little different. I sauteed some mushrooms in olive oil and added asiago cheese to the mix. Good choice, if I do say so myself.

We washed it all down with a bottle of Ken Wright Cellars Pinot Noir.

This was the first time we used the grill this year. I love grilling on beautiful days like yesterday! I can’t wait to use it more often. It’s so easy and you can grill just about anything.

Now, I’m off to eat leftover pizza with some roasted brussel sprouts I cooked up last night. Have a happy Monday!

2 responses to “Grilled Pizza

  1. Pingback: Back on Track | sprinklemassacre

  2. Pingback: The Post With Many Names | sprinklemassacre

Leave a Reply

