Back on Track

I honestly didn’t think one week off would affect me as much as it did. If you read my previous posts about being sick, I discussed how I felt it was a good idea to take an extra few days off after my sinus infection started to clear up. I was not at the gym for a total of 9 days (a Saturday through the following Sunday).

Monday and Tuesday of this week, I jumped right into my usual 30 minute ab routine followed by 45 minutes to an hour of cardio. My cardio consisted of interval running and incline walking both days. My abs are unbelievably sore and it was actually difficult to get the amount of reps I was getting the week before. Today, I did one of my usual upper body workouts. It felt a little easier than abs, but it was still hard. My arms felt fatigued immediately after the gym. I can tell I am going to be one sore human being by the end of the week.

I thought about it, though, and I miss the burn! I have been working out 6 days a week with no FULL WEEK break for a long time. All of my weight lifting routines seemed to get easier and I had to increase the weights. I like feeling that burn again like you haven’t used the muscles in years. Crazy enough, it has only been 9 days and I feel that. I guess it’s a love/hate thing.

Another thing I am noticing, now that lent is over, is how much peanut butter I really eat! Giving it up didn’t seem that hard, but right now I am loving it more than ever. I recently switched from Skippy all natural to Crazy Richard’s. Joe and I go through a jar a week because it is so runny (all of the natural oils, I guess). I feel like I am overdoing it with the healthy fats here because I tend to go way over the 2 tablespoons serving size. Ooops! I plan on buying Marantha almond butter this weekend to change things up.

Speaking of almond butter; when I got home today I was pleasantly surprised to see that my mini food processor had arrived from Amazon.

Yeaahh check out those stats. No, it really is a strong little 3 cup processor though. I made some almond butter to test out its skills.

Perfectly creamy. I am super happy with it.

I was starving since I wasn’t in the mood for the last snack I had brought to work (EAS protein shake). Joe’s parents left for Florida last night and his Dad told me to use up the fresh tomatoes they had. His parents actually live upstairs. Our house is split between the top floor and bottom floor (two separate one floor houses). I had a great idea for the tomatoes considering I had leftover basil and mozzarella from Sunday’s grilled pizza. On my way to get the tomatoes, I spotted these puppies in the dining room.

I mean…come on! YUM! I actually saw them on one of Gabriela‘s posts a few days ago and was salivating. What a coincidence!

Onto the Bruschetta! Being that I was on a food processor craze, I decided to just throw all the ingredients in and pulse once or twice. I combined:

  • 1 tomato
  • 1/4 cup basil
  • large chunk of mozzarella
  • 1 clove garlic
I pulsed only once and it was diced up nice and small. I added:
  • drop of olive oil
  • drop of balsamic vinegar
  • dash salt and pepper to taste

I didn’t even need bread! It was so good. I’ll probably make more tomorrow but I really was just anxious to test the new gadget. I gobbled the one person serving down in a second.

Next, I made what I had really been craving all day. Cookie dough cereal! I saw it on Fitnessista and really wanted to try it. I added:
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • cinnamon
  • stevia packet
  • pinch of sea salt
  • pinch of vanilla extract
  • 1 T Hershey’s dark cocoa powder (my addition)
I mixed it up and added 1 T Crazy Richard’s peanut butter and 1 T of my homemade almond butter. I crushed it up until it was crumbly and then added almond milk, strawberries and half of a banana.
I am now sufficiently full for the night. Watching Modern Family and reading some more Carrots ‘N’ Cake will surely put me to bed. Goodnight!

One response to “Back on Track

  1. I love those dark chocolate covered nuggets of amazing. I love the burn, too. It is crazy how intense it is after a long break.

Leave a Reply

